ICAO Council recognizes 28 States for exemplary commitment and progress


During the opening ceremonies of ICAO’s 40th General Assembly, ICAO Council President Dr. Olumuyiwa Benard Aliu presented 28 States from all ICAO regions with Council President Certificates.

The Certificates were established to recognize the States’ significant progress in resolving safety oversight and security deficiencies, and in improving the effective implementation of ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices as identified through related ICAO audit programmes. Based on their achievements in 2018, the following 16 States were recognized by the ICAO Council at this year’s ceremony for their safety progress:

  1. Azerbaijan
  2. Bahrain
  3. Gabon
  4. Georgia
  5. Ghana
  6. Guatemala
  7. India
  8. Mauritania
  9. Montenegro
  10. Mozambique
  11. Myanmar
  12. Papua New Guinea
  13. Peru
  14. Qatar
  15. Serbia
  16. The Congo

In the area of Aviation Security, the 17 States recognized by the Council in 2019 were:

  1. Bahrain
  2. Croatia
  3. Dominican Republic
  4. Georgia
  5. Ghana
  6. Jamaica
  7. Kazakhstan
  8. Kenya
  9. Maldives
  10. Mauritania
  11. Namibia
  12. Nigeria
  13. Qatar
  14. Rwanda
  15. Trinidad and Tobago
  16. Turkey
  17. Uganda

“These awards, established by the ICAO Council in support of our ongoing No Country Left Behind initiative, have been developed in order to more publicly acknowledge and encourage States’ commitment and progress in making our global network even safer and more secure than it is today,” commented Council President Aliu.

Pictures of the recipient States are shared below. The effective implementation of ICAO’s global Standards and Recommended Practices are considered a fundamental prerequisite today for establishing air transport’s rapid global connectivity, and in turn the many socio-economic benefits it helps to realize.