14 States receive awards for exemplary commitment and aviation safety


During the opening ceremonies of its 39th Assembly, the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) presented inaugural Council President Certificates to 14 States from around the world

The Certificates recognize the States’ significant progress in resolving safety oversight deficiencies and improving the effective implementation of ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices, as identified through the objective and transparent 2015 results determined through ICAO’s Universal Safety Oversight Audit Programme.

Based on their achievements in 2015, these 14 States were recognized by ICAO Council’s at the 2016 ceremony:

    1. Austria
    2. Botswana
    3. Cameroon
    4. Ecuador
    5. El Salvador
    6. Israel
    7. Italy
    8. Lao People’s Democratic Republic
    9. Latvia
    10. Madagascar
    11. Mali
    12. Niger
    13. San Marino
    14. United Arab Emirates

“These awards, established by the ICAO Council in support of our ongoing No Country Left Behind initiative, have been developed in order to more publicly acknowledge and encourage States’ commitments and progress in making our global network even safer than it is today,” commented Council President Aliu.

The effective implementation of ICAO’s global Standards and Recommended Practices is considered a fundamental prerequisite today for establishing air transport’s rapid global connectivity, and in turn the many socio-economic benefits it helps to realize.