ICAO Assembly elects new Council

Montréal – The 39th Session of the Assembly of the International Civil Aviation Organization completed the election of its new Council today. The 36-member Council is the governing body of the Organization and is elected for a three-year term.

The election process was divided into three parts, with the following States elected:

States of chief importance in air transport:

Australia*, Brazil*, Canada*, China*, France*, Germany*, Italy*, Japan*, Russian Federation*,
United Kingdom*, and the United States

States which make the largest contribution to the provision of facilities for international civil air navigation:

Argentina*, Colombia, Egypt*, India*, Ireland, Mexico*, Nigeria*, Saudi Arabia*, Singapore*,
South Africa*, Spain* and Sweden.

States ensuring geographic representation:

Algeria, Cabo Verde, Congo, Cuba, Ecuador, Kenya*, Malaysia*, Panama, Republic of Korea*, Turkey, United Arab Emirates*, United Republic of Tanzania*, and Uruguay.

*Indicates re-election.

The Assembly, composed of representatives from all Contracting States, is the sovereign body of ICAO. It meets every three years to review in detail the work of the Organization and set policy for the coming years. It also votes a triennial budget.


The Council, the governing body which is elected by the Assembly for a three-year term, is composed of 36 States. The Assembly chooses the Council Member States under three headings: States of chief importance in air transport, States which make the largest contribution to the provision of facilities for air navigation, and States whose designation will ensure that all major areas of the world are represented. As the governing body, the Council gives continuing direction to the work of ICAO. It is in the Council that Standards and Recommended Practices are adopted and incorporated as Annexes to the Convention on International Civil Aviation. The Council is assisted by the Air Navigation Commission (technical matters), the Air Transport Committee (economic matters), the Committee on Joint Support of Air Navigation Services and the Finance Committee.